Understanding fraud and identity theft

Identity theft is the illegal use of your personal information. It involves stealing the identity of another person, usually for the purpose of financial gain or other criminal purposes.

Your name, date of birth, address, credit card number, Social Insurance Number (SIN) and other personal information can be used to take over your existing bank accounts or to open new ones, as well as to apply for credit cards, redirect mail, establish cellular phone service, rent vehicles, buy merchandise, and even secure employment.

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada has published a guidance document called Identity Theft and You to share tips for reducing your risk of identity theft.

For Co-operators clients

As a Co-operators client, identity theft coverage is included on your Home, Condominium and Tenant insurance policies at no extra cost. For more information, ask your local Financial Advisor about this coverage.

If you believe that you may have been a victim of identity theft, contact us immediately to let us know.

We are committed to protecting the privacy, confidentiality, accuracy and security of the personal information collected, used, retained and disclosed in the course of doing business with you. For more information on our privacy practices, see our Privacy Policy Statement and Disclosure.

Caller ID Spoofing

On occasion, we have been alerted to some possibly fraudulent companies using The Co-operators phone numbers deceitfully. This practice is known as “Caller ID spoofing,” which entails placing calls from one phone line but having the number and/or name that appears on the receiver’s phone changed to make it look legitimate.

If you have reason to believe that The Co-operators is being misrepresented and you receive one of these “Caller ID spoofs” we encourage you to report it to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) at http://www.dncl.gc.ca or by calling 1-866-580-3625. Please obtain as many details as possible to provide to the CRTC such as date and time of the call, the displayed phone number, the home number called and the name of your service provider.

As we look into these incidents and look into possible legal and technical remedies, please keep in mind that the number that appears on your caller identification is not necessarily the one actually calling you. Also, please note that The Co-operators will never ask for credit card or other sensitive information over the phone.

If you have any questions please contact us at compliance@cooperators.ca.

Fraudulent Cheques

From time to time we come across fraudulent Co-operators cheques that are being used in various scams. For example, individuals have reported receiving cheques with a reference to mystery shopping; these cheques are fraudulent. If you unexpectedly receive a cheque from The Co-operators or are unsure about the origins of a Co-operators cheque, please contact us at compliance@cooperators.ca to verify its authenticity.

Fraud Detection and Prevention

CANATICS, or Canadian National Insurance Crime Services, is a not-for-profit organization focused on using state-of-the-art analytical tools to identify potentially suspicious claims in insurance industry pooled data, to facilitate further investigation by individual insurers.

For more information about CANATICS, please visit www.canatics.ca. Select “CANATICS fights fraud” to view a short video or to read the CANATICS FAQs.

For questions about The Co-operators’ participation in CANATICS, please contact compliance@cooperators.ca.

Comprendre la fraude et le vol d’identité

Le vol d’identité (ou usurpation d’identité) est l’utilisation illégale de vos renseignements personnels. Les malfaiteurs se servent de l’identité d’une autre personne afin d’effectuer des transactions financières illégales ou d’autres activités criminelles.

Votre nom, votre date de naissance, votre adresse, le numéro de vos cartes de crédit, votre numéro d’assurance sociale ou d’autres renseignements personnels permettent au voleur d’accéder à vos comptes bancaires ou d’en ouvrir de nouveaux, de commander de nouvelles cartes de crédit, de détourner votre courrier, d’ouvrir un compte de téléphonie cellulaire, de louer un véhicule, d’acheter de la marchandise et dans certains cas, de décrocher un emploi.

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada a publié un document d’orientation intitulé Le vol d’identité et vous pour vous aider à réduire le risque.

Pour les clients de Co-operators

Nous avons inclus, sans frais, la garantie contre le vol d’identité dans tous les contrats d’assurance habitation de propriétaires, de copropriétaires et de locataires. Pour en savoir plus au sujet de cette garantie, renseignez-vous auprès de votre représentant.

Si vous pensez avoir été victime d’un vol d’identité, signalez-le-nous immédiatement.

Nous nous engageons à respecter votre droit à la vie privée et à assurer la confidentialité, l’exactitude et la sécurité des renseignements personnels que nous recueillons, utilisons, conservons et communiquons dans le cadre de nos activités. Pour en savoir plus sur notre politique de confidentialité, consultez l’Énoncé sur la protection et la divulgation des renseignements personnels.

Mystification téléphonique

Nous avons été informés que des entreprises frauduleuses utilisent parfois les numéros de téléphone de Co-operators dans le but de tromper nos clients. Par cette pratique, appelée « mystification téléphonique », le fraudeur modifie le numéro ou le nom affiché sur l’appareil de la personne appelée pour qu’elle croie à un appel légitime.

Si vous avez des raisons de croire que quelqu’un se fait passer pour un employé de Co-operators, nous vous encourageons à le signaler au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) en accédant au site http://www.dncl.gc.ca ou en composant le 1-866-580-3625. Obtenez le plus de détails possible à fournir au CRTC, comme la date et l’heure de l’appel, le numéro de téléphone affiché, le numéro de téléphone de la personne appelée et le nom du fournisseur de service.

Pendant que nous étudions ces incidents et les possibles recours judiciaires et techniques, rappelez-vous que le numéro inscrit sur votre afficheur n’est pas nécessairement celui de l’appelant. De plus, sachez que Co-operators ne vous demandera jamais votre numéro de carte de crédit ou d’autres renseignements personnels au téléphone.

Pour toute question, écrivez-nous à compliance@cooperators.ca.

Chèques falsifiés

De temps à autre, nous découvrons que de faux chèques de Co-operators sont utilisés pour réaliser diverses escroqueries. Par exemple, des personnes ont signalé avoir reçu des chèques en lien avec une enquête mystère; il s’agit de chèques frauduleux. Si vous recevez de Co-operators un chèque que vous n’attendiez pas ou si vous n’êtes pas certain de la provenance d’un chèque de Co-operators, écrivez à compliance@cooperators.ca pour en vérifier l’authenticité.

Détection et prévention de la fraude

Canadian National Insurance Crime Services (CANATICS) est un organisme à but non lucratif qui utilise des outils d’analyse de pointe pour déceler des demandes de règlement douteuses parmi des données recueillies du secteur de l’assurance afin de faciliter les enquêtes menées par les assureurs.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur CANATICS, veuillez consulter le site www.canatics.ca (en anglais seulement). Cliquez sur CANATICS fights fraud pour visionner une courte vidéo ou pour lire la FAQ de CANATICS.

Si vous avez des questions sur la collaboration de Co-operators avec CANATICS, veuillez les envoyer à compliance@cooperators.ca.