Farm Insurance

Farm InsuranceInsure your farm with a company founded by farmers

Farming isn’t like other business, so The Co-operators offers insurance plans specially designed to meet farmers' needs. It’s what you’d expect from a company founded by farmers. If you would like more information on any of our insurance products, just give us a call. Your local Financial Advisors will be happy to answer any questions you have about Farm insurance and give you a free, no-obligation quote. Our basic Farm policies offer coverage for:

  • Dwellings
  • Personal Property
  • Farm Structures
  • Machinery
  • Livestock
  • Produce
  • Poultry
  • Farmers General Liability
  • Pollution liability protection

Your farm is your life’s work. Protect it with an insurance company that’s part of a co-operative, one that understands exactly what you need. Your local Financial Advisor will help create an insurance plan that’s customized just for you.

*Note: The Co-operators does not sell Farm insurance in Québec.

Customized coverage

We believe in giving you many options, so you can build a plan specific to your situation without adding coverage you don’t need. We offer the following and more as options:

  • Replacement cost coverage
  • Sewer backup coverage
  • Loss of use of farm machinery
  • Power interruption
  • Loss of income protection (business interruption)
  • Increased fire department charges
  • Employer’s liability and voluntary compensation for farm employees (not available in all provinces)
  • Farm accident insurance

Farm assessments

We believe in taking the time to get to know you and your farm operation and find out exactly what coverage you need.

Your Financial Advisor will come out to your farm to review your operation and your existing insurance coverage to make certain you get a policy that meets all your specific needs. We know that the needs of a large commercial farming operation are far different than those of a hobby farm, and that poultry or dairy farmers need different coverage than produce or hog farmers.

Our Financial Advisors know exactly what to look for, and will conduct a thorough review of your property to ensure that you are getting the quote for the insurance you need. They’ll also give you safety tips and suggestions to help keep you and your farm operation safe.

Proud sponsors of 4-H

Since 1913, 4-H has nurtured strong values such as citizenship, leadership, co-operation, responsibility, and independence in young Canadians. 4-H is a global movement that encourages rural youth to grow and learn through community service and the development of life skills.

4-H clubs focus on helping youth “Learn To Do By Doing” in a safe, inclusive, and fun environment. 4-H’ers learn new skills, whether it’s completing crafts, building websites, public speaking, building small engines, or learning about and raising animals. 4-H Canada believes in nurturing responsible, engaged, and confident leaders who are committed to positively impacting communities across Canada and around the world.

National volunteer leader of the year award

To recognize those 4-H leaders who help make their communities a better place, The‑Cooperators awards 10 provincial winners with a certificate and a $100 cash prize. From this group, a national winner is chosen in a lottery for the Grand Prize of $1,100 cash and a trip to the National 4-H Conference.

Nominate a 4-H leader in your community for The Co‑operators 4-H National Volunteer Award.

Assurance agricoleAssurez votre exploitation agricole auprès d’une compagnie elle-même fondée par des agriculteurs

L’agriculture est un secteur à part, c’est pourquoi Co-operators offre des régimes d’assurance spécialement adaptés aux besoins des agriculteurs. Ce n’est pas surprenant de la part d’une entreprise elle-même fondée par des agriculteurs. Pour plus d’information sur nos produits d’assurance, n’hésitez pas à nous téléphoner. Nos représentants se feront un plaisir de répondre à toutes vos questions sur l’assurance agricole et vous prépareront une soumission gratuite et sans aucune obligation de votre part. Notre assurance agricole de base offre les garanties suivantes :

  • Habitations
  • Biens meubles
  • Bâtiments agricoles
  • Machines agricoles
  • Bétail
  • Produits
  • Volaille
  • Responsabilité civile des exploitants agricoles
  • Responsabilité civile en cas de pollution

Votre ferme, c’est le travail de toute une vie. Protégez-la en faisant affaire avec un assureur membre d’une coopérative qui comprend réellement vos besoins. Votre représentant vous aidera à créer un régime d’assurance personnalisé.

*Note : Co-operators n’offre pas d’assurance agricole au Québec

Garanties personnalisées

Il est important pour nous de vous offrir diverses options vous permettant d’établir un régime adapté à votre situation, sans garanties superflues.

Nous offrons notamment les options suivantes :

  • Valeur à neuf
  • Refoulement des égouts
  • Avenant Eau multirisque*
  • Privation de jouissance des machines agricoles
  • Interruptions de courant
  • Pertes d’exploitation
  • Frais de services d’incendie
  • Responsabilité patronale et indemnisation volontaire des salariés (dans certaines provinces seulement)
  • Accidents agricoles
*Offert uniquement aux propriétaires de maison en Ontario et en Alberta.

Inspections des exploitations agricoles

Il est important pour nous de prendre le temps de vous connaître, vous et votre exploitation, et de comprendre précisément vos besoins d’assurance.

Votre représentant se rendra à votre exploitation agricole en vue de l’inspecter et de passer en revue votre assurance actuelle pour s’assurer de vous offrir une police qui répond à tous vos besoins. Nous savons que les besoins d’assurance d’une grande ferme commerciale sont bien différents de ceux d’une ferme d’agrément, et qu’une ferme avicole ou laitière n’aura pas besoin des mêmes garanties qu’une ferme porcine ou qu’un producteur maraîcher.

Nos représentants savent exactement ce qui doit être fait : ils feront une évaluation complète de votre propriété pour que vous receviez une soumission d’assurance personnalisée. Ils vous donneront également des conseils de sécurité et formuleront des suggestions pour vous aider à vous protéger, vous et votre exploitation.

Fier commanditaire des 4-H

Depuis 1913, les 4-H font la promotion de valeurs fondamentales auprès des jeunes Canadiens, tels que le sens civique, les qualités de leader, la collaboration, le sens des responsabilités et l’indépendance. Les 4-H forment un organisme international qui aide les jeunes des zones rurales à s’épanouir et à évoluer en offrant leurs services au profit de la collectivité et en se préparant à la vie d’adulte.

Les clubs 4-H aident les jeunes à « apprendre par la pratique » dans un environnement sécuritaire, inclusif et amusant. Les membres des 4-H font l’acquisition de nouvelles compétences, que ce soit en apprenant à bricoler, à créer des sites Web, à parler en public, à bâtir de petits moteurs ou à élever des animaux. 4 H Canada a pour mandat d’encourager les jeunes à devenir des leaders responsables, mobilisés et confiants qui sont déterminés à avoir une incidence positive sur les collectivités au Canada et partout dans le monde.

Prix annuel du leader bénévole nation

Pour récompenser les leaders 4-H qui contribuent à améliorer leurs collectivités, Co-operators décerne un certificat et un prix en argent de 100 $ à dix lauréats provinciaux. Parmi ces lauréats, un gagnant national est sélectionné dans le cadre d’un tirage au sort. Ce dernier reçoit un grand prix en argent de 1 100 $ ainsi que la chance de participer à la Conférence nationale des 4-H.

Proposez un candidat pour le prix du leader bénévole national 4-H de Co-operators.