Auto Insurance

Auto InsuranceGet auto insurance that’s right for you

If you own a vehicle of any kind, you probably know that insurance is required by law. Plans vary widely depending on your vehicle, how you use it and where you live. Here’s what you need to know to get the vehicle coverage that’s right for you.

Let’s start with where you live

Car insurance in Canada varies by province. Where you live determines what coverage you need and who you buy your insurance from.

If you live in British Columbia, Saskatchewan or Manitoba, your provincial government requires basic auto insurance that covers injury to yourself and passengers. Additional coverage is available from your insurer.

British Columbia and Manitoba

Purchase ICBC Autoplan insurance in British Columbia and MPI Autopac insurance in Manitoba from your Co-operators Financial Advisor. For more complete coverage, including insurance for theft or damage to your car, ask us about your coverage options.

Saskatchewan

Ask your local Financial Advisor for SGI insurance in Saskatchewan, which includes basic vehicle damage (with a deductible), personal injury and liability coverage up to $200,000. We also offer extended Third Party Liability coverage, and physical damage coverage at a lower deductible to reduce the amount you would pay if you have a claim.

If you live in Quebec, the provincial public automobile insurance plan covers you for injury or death due to an automobile accident, no matter who is at fault or where in the world the accident happened. However, under the Automobile Insurance Act, you also have to have third-party liability insurance of at least $50,000 for property damage. This protection, available from private insurers such as The Co-operators, covers any property damage caused to another party.

In all other provinces and territories (Alberta, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island or the Yukon) all car insurance is available only from private insurance companies like The Co-operators.

Find a Financial Advisor
Get an Auto insurance quote

Learn more about insurance requirements in each province and territory.

What your auto insurance plan must include

While insurance plans vary by province, these are the most common types of insurance you must have before you can use your vehicle. Make sure you check the following when you compare auto insurance quotes:

Liability: If you’re in a car accident and are held legally liable for other people’s injuries, or for damage to another person’s vehicle or property, your insurance company will pay up to the total amount listed on your policy. You are responsible for amounts above that limit.

Accident Benefits: This covers medical expenses not covered by a provincial health plan, plus loss of income as the result of an auto accident. In some provinces, you may be entitled to additional benefits if you are someone's caregiver. Accident Benefits are paid regardless of who was at fault in an accident. Not available in Quebec.

Uninsured Automobile: This is financial coverage for costs related to injury or death if you’re in an accident caused by another driver who is either uninsured or unidentified, as in a hit and run. Damage to your vehicle is only covered if the driver is identified and uninsured. Not available in Quebec.

Direct Compensation Property Damage (DCPD): Available only in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, P.E.I. and Ontario, this covers the cost of loss or damage to your car in an accident for which you were not entirely responsible. To qualify, the other driver has to be identified, insured and found to be at least partially at fault. In some provinces, you can no longer sue another person for damage to your car.

Your insurance company will look at the degree to which you are responsible for the accident and your deductible to determine how much compensation you will receive. You will be paid if you were partly or not at all responsible for the accident. Be sure to review your car insurance policy for specific details, restrictions and exclusions. All insurance claims are subject to a deductible.

Value-added coverage

You may want additional coverage to be sure you’re fully protected in case of an automobile accident, theft or damage. Here are some coverage options to consider:

Collision: You’re covered for the cost of repairs or replacement of your car in the event of a collision where you are partially or totally at fault.

Specified Perils: This covers you for specific perils such as fire, lightning, theft*, windstorm, earthquake, hail, explosion, riot and others.

Comprehensive: With this option, you’re covered for any threat or danger other than collision, including theft*, damage or loss caused by vandalism, projectiles, and falling or flying objects such as stones kicked up by a truck in front of you. The important thing to remember is that this coverage applies to your vehicle only, not you or your passengers.

*Comprehensive and Specified Perils do not insure your car against theft if a member of your household steals your car, or if an employee whose job involved using or maintaining the car steals your vehicle.

All Perils: This is the most complete Loss or Damage coverage available. All Perils combines Collision and Comprehensive coverage and protects against theft by a person who lives in your household or an employee who steals your vehicle.

The most popular combination is Collision and Comprehensive coverage.

Optional coverage with endorsements

For extra protection, add the following to your insurance policy:

Accident Forgiveness: If you have this coverage on your policy, your first accident won’t affect your insurance rates, provided you have been licensed and accident-free for six years. Not available separately in Quebec; already included in provincial coverage plan.

Loss of use: If your car is damaged in an accident, stolen or destroyed, this endorsement covers the costs of temporary transportation such as renting a car or taking a bus. You’ll be covered up to the maximum amount specified in your policy until your car is recovered, repaired or replaced.

Legal liability for damage to non-owned automobiles: This endorsement will cover you if you damage a car you don’t own while it was in your care and control, such as a rental car.

Family protection endorsement: Receive additional benefits if you’re involved in an accident with a driver who doesn’t have enough coverage to pay a claim for injury or death. This only applies if the other driver has less insurance coverage than you.

Limited waiver of depreciation: This coverage protects against the loss of value or depreciation of a new car if, as a result of an accident, your car is beyond repair and must be replaced. This coverage is only available during the first two years of a vehicle lease or ownership. You could receive an amount up to the price you paid for the vehicle or the manufacturer’s suggested price. You can only add this endorsement if you have insured your vehicle with Collision and Comprehensive coverage, Collision and Specified Perils coverage or All Perils coverage.

Additional coverage: You can also buy insurance for a stereo or other components installed in your vehicle.

To learn more about car insurance, visit the Insurance Bureau of Canada.

Online tools

Get an online quote right now for your Auto insurance, or find a Financial Advisor near you to get started on creating the policy you need. Once you have insurance with us, you’ll be able to make a claim quickly and easily using your iPhone.

Assurance automobileUne assurance automobile qui répond à vos besoins

Quel que soit le type de véhicule que vous possédez, vous savez sans doute que vous êtes légalement tenu de souscrire une assurance. Vous avez le choix parmi plusieurs régimes, selon le type de véhicule que vous possédez, l’utilisation que vous en faites et la province où vous demeurez.

Exigences en matière d’assurance automobile par province

Les exigences en matière d’assurance automobile au Canada dépendent de la province où vous demeurez et de votre assureur.

Si vous demeurez en Colombie-Britannique, en Saskatchewan ou au Manitoba, vous êtes tenu de souscrire l’assurance automobile obligatoire du régime d’assurance public qui vous protège, vous et vos passagers, en cas de blessures. Vous pouvez vous procurer une protection supplémentaire auprès de votre assureur.

Colombie-Britannique et Manitoba

Vous pouvez vous procurer l’assurance automobile publique Autoplan (ICBC) en Colombie-Britannique et l’assurance Autopac de la SAPM au Manitoba auprès de votre représentant de Co-operators. Pour une protection plus complète, incluant une assurance contre le vol ou les dommages subis par votre véhicule, informez-vous au sujet de vos options d’assurance.

Saskatchewan

Informez-vous auprès de votre conseiller en sécurité financière au sujet de l’assurance publique de la Saskatchewan (SGI), qui comprend une assurance de base couvrant les dommages subis par le véhicule (avec franchise) et les blessures corporelles, ainsi qu’une assurance de la responsabilité civile jusqu’à concurrence de 200 000 $. Nous offrons également une assurance de la responsabilité civile étendue ainsi qu’une protection contre les dommages matériels assortie d’une franchise moins élevée afin de réduire le montant que vous devriez payer en cas de sinistre.

Si vous habitez au Québec, le régime d’assurance automobile provincial vous couvre en cas de blessures ou de décès dans un accident automobile, peu importe qui est responsable ou dans quel pays l’accident est survenu. Aux termes de la Loi sur l’assurance automobile, vous bénéficiez également d’une assurance de la responsabilité civile d’au moins 50 000 $ au titre des dommages matériels. Cette protection, offerte par des assureurs privés tels que Co operators, couvre les dommages matériels causés par un tiers.

Dans tous les autres territoires et provinces (Alberta, Nouveau-Brunswick, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Nouvelle-Écosse, Ontario, Île-du-Prince-Édouard ou Yukon), vous pouvez uniquement vous procurer une assurance automobile auprès de compagnies d’assurance privées telles que Co-operators.

Trouver un représentant
Demander une soumission d’assurance automobile

Apprenez-en davantage sur les exigences en matière d’assurance dans chaque province et territoire.

Ce que votre protection d’assurance automobile doit inclure

Bien que les protections d’assurance varient selon les provinces, les points ci-dessous représentent les protections habituelles que vous devrez posséder avant de pouvoir utiliser votre véhicule :

Responsabilité civile : Si vous êtes impliqué dans un accident de voiture et que vous êtes tenu légalement responsable de blessures causées à autrui, ou pour des dommages au véhicule ou à des biens d’une autre personne, votre compagnie d’assurance versera une somme jusqu’à concurrence du montant total indiqué dans votre police. Vous êtes responsable des montants qui dépassent ce plafond.

Indemnités d’accident : Ces indemnités couvrent les frais médicaux non couverts par le régime d’assurance maladie provincial ainsi que les pertes de revenu résultant d’un accident de voiture. Dans certaines provinces, les aidants naturels peuvent avoir droit à des prestations supplémentaires. Les indemnités sont versées sans égard à la faute. Non offert au Québec.

Automobile non assurée : Cette protection vous couvre, vous et votre famille, en cas de blessure ou de décès causé par un automobiliste non identifié (délit de fuite) ou non assuré. Non offerte au Québec.

Indemnisation directe – Dommage matériel : Cette protection, qui existe uniquement au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, en Ontario et au Québec, couvre le coût de la perte ou des dommages touchant votre automobile dans un accident dont vous n’étiez pas entièrement responsable. Pour que vous y soyez admissible, il faut que l’autre conducteur soit identifié, assuré et jugé être au moins partiellement responsable. Dans certaines provinces, vous ne pouvez plus poursuivre une personne en justice pour dommages à votre automobile.

Votre assureur calculera votre degré de responsabilité de l’accident et la valeur de votre franchise pour déterminer l’indemnité que vous recevrez. Vous serez payé si vous étiez nullement ou partiellement responsable de l’accident. Assurez-vous de passer en revue votre police d’assurance automobile afin de bien en comprendre les détails, les restrictions et les exclusions. Toutes les demandes de règlement sont assujetties à une franchise.

Protection avantageuse

Vous pourriez souhaiter obtenir un supplément d’assurance pour être certain que vous êtes entièrement protégé en cas d’accident de la route, de vol ou de dommage matériel. Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques options possibles.

Collision : Vous êtes protégé pour le coût des réparations ou du remplacement de l’automobile dans le cas d’une collision dont vous êtes partiellement ou totalement responsable.

Risques désignés : Cette option vous protège contre des risques spécifiques, tels que les incendies, la foudre, le vol*, les tempêtes de vent, les tremblements de terre, la grêle, les explosions, les émeutes et autres.

Assurance multirisque : Cette option couvre tous les risques et dangers autres qu’une collision, y compris le vol*, les pertes ou dommages causés par le vandalisme, les projectiles, les objets tombés ou projetés, tels que des pierres projetées par un camion circulant devant votre véhicule. Il faut aussi se rappeler que ce type de protection s’applique uniquement à votre véhicule (et non pas à vous ou à vos passagers).

*Les garanties Risques multiples et Risques spécifiés n’offrent aucune protection contre le vol de votre véhicule si celui-ci est volé par un membre de votre maisonnée ou un employé dont les fonctions comprennent l’utilisation et l’entretien de votre voiture.

Tous risques : Il s’agit de la protection contre les pertes ou dommages la plus complète que nous offrons. La garantie tous risques comprend à la fois la garantie collision et la garantie accidents sans collision ni versement et offre une protection contre le vol d’un véhicule, commis par une personne vivant dans votre résidence ou par un employé.

La combinaison la plus fréquente est la garantie collision et la garantie accidents sans collision ni versement.

Garanties facultatives et avenants

Pour une protection complémentaire, vous pouvez ajouter les options suivantes à votre police d’assurance :

Pardon en cas d’accident* : Si vous souscrivez la garantie Pardon en cas d’accident, votre premier accident ne fera pas augmenter vos primes d’assurance si vous êtes titulaire d’un permis de conduire et n’avez eu aucun accident depuis six ans.

Privation de jouissance : Si votre véhicule est endommagé dans un accident, volé ou détruit, cet avenant couvre les frais de transport temporaires tels que les frais de location de voiture ou de billets d’autobus. Vous serez couvert jusqu’à concurrence du montant maximal indiqué dans votre police jusqu’à ce que votre voiture soit retrouvée, réparée ou remplacée, ou que votre réclamation soit réglée.

Responsabilité civile pour dommages au véhicule dont vous n’êtes pas propriétaire : Cet avenant vous assurera si vous causez des dommages à une automobile qui ne vous appartient pas mais dont vous aviez la garde et la maîtrise, comme une voiture de location.

Avenant Protection : Vous avez droit à des prestations supplémentaires si vous êtes impliqué dans un accident avec un automobiliste qui ne bénéficie pas d’une protection suffisante pour acquitter les coûts liés à des blessures ou à un décès. Cette protection s’applique uniquement si la couverture de l’assurance de l’autre automobiliste est d’un niveau inférieur à la vôtre.

Renonciation limitée de la dépréciation : Cet avenant vous offre une protection contre la perte de valeur ou la dépréciation d’une voiture récente si cette dernière subit un accident qui donne lieu à une « perte totale » et doit être remplacée. Cette protection n’est offerte que lors des deux premières années de location ou de propriété du véhicule. Vous pourriez recevoir un montant jusqu’à concurrence du prix que vous avez versé pour le véhicule ou du prix suggéré par le fabricant. Vous pouvez ajouter cet avenant si vous avez souscrit les garanties suivantes : garanties collision et accidents sans collision ni versement, garanties collision et risques déterminés, et garantie tous risques.

Garantie complémentaire : Vous pouvez également souscrire une garantie pour une chaîne stéréo ou pour de l’équipement installé après l’achat du véhicule.

Pour en savoir davantage sur l’assurance automobile, visitez le site du Bureau d’assurance du Canada.

*Au Québec, la garantie Pardon en cas d’accident n’est pas vendue dans le cadre d’un avenant distinct.

Outils en ligne

Obtenez une soumission d’assurance automobile en ligne dès aujourd’hui, ou trouvez un représentant d’assurance près de chez vous afin de créer une police adaptée à vos besoins. Si vous souscrivez une assurance auprès de nous et que vous subissez un sinistre, vous pourrez o présenter, rapidement et aisément, une demande de règlement à l’aide de votre iPhone.